Setting a default portal

Article number:0401024

This article explains how to set a default portal that will be initially displayed when users log in to Kintone.

A default portal can be set for each department.
Note that only portals created in addition to the original portal can be set as a default portal.

How a user's default portal is determined

The default portal displayed when a user logs in is determined by the following rules.

If a default portal is set for a user's priority department​​​​

When a default portal is set for a user's priority department, it will be displayed initially when they log in to Kintone.​​​​

Example:

  • User A's priority department is the "Sales Department".​​
  • The "Sales Portal" is set as the default portal of the "Sales Department".​​

In this case, the "Sales Portal" will be displayed when User A logs in.

If a default portal is not set for a user's priority department​

When a default portal is not set for a user's priority department, the parent department's settings will be referenced.​​​​

If a default portal is set for a user's parent department

​​When a default portal is set for a user's parent department and the Include affiliated departments checkbox is selected, the settings for the parent department will be applied.
If there is a hierarchy of multiple parent departments that have default portals set, the settings of the parent department closest to the user's priority department will be applied.​​

Example:

  • User B's priority department is "Sales Division 1".​​
  • There is no default portal set for "Sales Division 1".​​
  • The parent department "Sales Department" has the "Sales Portal" set as the default portal and its Include affiliated departments checkbox is selected.​​
  • There is another parent department one level higher in the hierarchy that has the "Sales Management Portal" set as the default portal and the Include affiliated departments checkbox selected.​​

In this case, the "Sales Portal" (the default portal of the parent department closest to User B's priority department) will be displayed when User B first logs in.

If a user's parent department does not have a default portal set

When a default portal is not set for a user's priority department or its parent department, the original portal will initially be displayed when the user logs in.​​​​

Example:

  • User C's priority department is "Sales Division 2".​​
  • A default is not set for "Sales Division 2" or its parent department "Sales Department".​​

In this case, the original portal will initially be displayed when User C logs in.

If a user does not belong to any department

When a user does not belong to any department, their priority department is set as (None). In this case, the user has no department that can have a default portal set, so the original portal will initially be displayed when they log in.​​​​

Example:

  • User D does not belong to any department.
  • Their priority department is set as None.​​

In this case, the original portal will initially be displayed when User C logs in.

Steps

  1. Click the Settings icon (the gear-shaped icon) on your portal, then click Portal management.
    Screenshot: The "Settings" icon and the "Portal management" option are highlighted

  2. On the Portal management screen, click the Display settings tab.
    Screenshot: The "Display settings" tab is selected on the "Portal management" screen

  3. Click Default portals.

  4. On the Default portals screen, select a department.
    If the Include affiliated departments checkbox is selected for the department, its settings will also be applied to users who belong to departments underneath it.

  5. Select a portal from the Default portal drop-down list.
    Screenshot: The "Default portals" screen

  6. Click Save.